On October 25, 1983, a pre-organizational meeting was held at NAEA Headquarters in Washington, D.C. to form the Virginia State Society. Present at that meeting were: Judith Beach, Vernon Graber, Edward Levine, Lewis Marsh, Bess Messmer, Robert Spencer and Jack Wade.

An organizational meeting, open to all Virginia Enrolled Agents, was held at the Richmond Hyatt, on November 17, 1983. Attendees were David Barrach of NAEA, Bette Conlon, Edward Levine, Thomas Litton, W. Stuart Logan, Bess Messmer, Robert Mitchell, Benny Montgomery, Helen Ruther Salomon, Robert Spencer, Jack Wade, Roy Williams and Vernon Woodward. So much interest was shown at this meeting, the attendees decided to proceed with the incorporation process and affiliation with NAEA. Minutes of the meeting made up the first issue of the “Virginia Enrolled Agent” newsletter in November, 1983.

The following volunteered to serve the Society and are listed in the Articles of Incorporation dated November 28, 1983 as Initial Directors: Bette Conlon of Fredericksburg, Edward Levine and Robert Spencer of Richmond, Thomas Litton of Lexington, Bess Messmer (Incorporator) of Colonial Heights, Robert Mitchell, Jr. of Vienna, and Roy E. Williams of Annandale.

The Certificate of Incorporation was issued to the Virginia Society of Enrolled Agents, a non-profit, non-stock corporation, on December 1, 1983. The fiscal year was designated as July 1 -June 30. There were 20 original members.

For more history, click here.

© 2024 Virginia Society of Enrolled Agents  All rights reserved.
Virginia Society of Enrolled Agents is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software